

# June 19, 2012 Committee Update

#### **Governance Committee**

The committee is currently reviewing governance terms of reference (TOR) and the chair Tony Armstrong has asked that committee members do a "360" and send samples of governance to James Murphy and Tony for compilation. The next committee meeting via conference call on June 12 will be a chance for the committee members to give input on what works well and what does not in order to write a new draft of the TOR.

• Tony Armstrong Chair, Gary Froude, Michael Lawley & Lynn Middaugh

# **Marketing Committee**

The Explorers' Edge (EE) Marketing Committee is established by the Board of Directors to solicit input, recommendations and feedback on marketing initiatives from tourism industry representatives in the region.

 <u>Jackie Leung Chair</u>, Jamie Hopkins, Michelle Berry, Andrew Ryeland, Ken Turner, Mike Laba, Clee Varon, Kelly Haywood, Christine Utas, John Langford, Randy Mitson, Debbie Miller, Sheila Creighton, Anna Marie Harris, Gord Bell, Greg Hancock, Cathy Tait

## Research, Tracking and Measurement Committee

This committee currently has two projects currently in the works. The first being a recreational trail pilot project which will have a recommended proposal for the committee by June 19, 2012. The second is the first steps in the development of a Tourism Indicator Framework (TIF). The committee is planning on holding a facilitated whiteboard session early September to flush out details in order to have a TIF Operational Plan developed (through a RFP process) for February 1, 2013.

Chair TBA, Jim Murphy, Dave Stewart, Diane Wiber

#### **Tourism Operator Relations Committee**

The committee is currently facilitating the Tourism Product Development Fund application process and will be responsible to reviewing and recommending final submissions to move forward in order to support the mandate of our organization along with our objectives.

 <u>Dan Feasby Chair</u>, Jack Hay, Stephanie Delaurie, Nicole Saulnier, Andrew Vitch, Diane Wiber

# **Transacting Committee**

This committee will be responsible for reviewing the outcomes of the Fuel and Fun program while facilitating future transacting program during the current fiscal year.

• Jerry Feltis Chair, Don MacKay, Drew Rachart, Anna-Marie Harris

## **Community Relations Committee**

The Community Relations Committee brings together community tourism stakeholders to help Explorers' Edge achieve its strategic goals and to maximize the positive impact that the Regional Tourism Organization can make in each community. The role of Committee Members is to (1) share information and (2) provide input and recommendations on Explorers' Edge's activities. In turn, Explorers' Edge will reciprocate for the benefit of Committee members and their constituents, providing input or recommendations on the priorities of the municipalities and/or organizations within the region.

 <u>Don MacKay Chair</u>, Perry Harris, Lillian White. Danielle Millar, Kelly Haywood, Nancy Ewing, Marianne Braid, John Crowley, Brenda McCracken, Jane Templeton, Cheryl Kelly, Jennifer Schnier, Tony Rossi, John Finley, Lynn Middaugh, Walt Schmidt, Kelly Krist, Anna Marie Harris, Michael Lawley, Marg French, Lori-Lynn, John Dunn, Ron Begin