# Explorers' Edge Annual General Meeting Tuesday, June 2, 2015 Muskoka Boat & Heritage Centre, Gravenhurst

**Present:** Jackie Leung, Jeff Suddaby, Hilary Chambers, Michelle Berry, Curt Dunlop, Kim Loader, Jerry Feltis, Drew Rachar, Andrew Vitch, Nicole Saulnier, Andrew Ryeland, Don MacKay, John Miller

Regrets: Anthony Rizzo, Diane Wiber

Staff: James Murphy, Kate Monk, Tyler Francis, Erin Smit

Resource: Laura Hernando

Welcome and Introductions: Jackie Leung called the meeting to order at 9:50am

#### Approval of Agenda for 2015 Annual General Meeting

Motion: Andrew Ryeland Seconded: Don MacKay Discussion: n/a Carried.

#### Approval of Minutes for 2014 Annual General Meeting

Motion: Nicole Saulnier Seconded: Andrew Vitch Discussion: n/a Carried.

#### Financial Review – Treasurer Andrew Vitch

Financials were prepared by Clark Westcott; financials presented were for audited financial statement for fiscal year ending March 31, 2015. Vitch spoke to balance sheet and income statement; balance sheet shows 97% receivables, cash on hand; reflects liabilities and executed programs. Income statement reflects revenue from transfer payment agreement, balance is from partnership programs. Explorers' Edge operates at 18% salaries, over 1 million spent on marketing initiatives; the priority of the board.

#### Motion to Accept the Financials as Presented

Motion: Andrew Ryeland Seconded: Jerry Feltis Discussion: n/a Carried.

Appointment of Financial Review Firm for 2014 – Clark Westcott Motion: Andrew Vitch Seconded: Jerry Feltis Discussion: n/a Carried.

## **Recognition of Retiring Directors**

Jackie Leung, board chair, recognized the retiring board directors: Don MacKay, Michelle Berry, Diane Wiber and Andrew Ryeland.

### 2015 Slate of Directors

On behalf of Governance Chair, Anthony Rizzo (not present), ED Murphy shared with the AGM attendees the outcome of the nomination committee's work; met in January to preform SWOT analysis and begin nomination process, vetted 3 nominations (based on gender, role in tourism sector, geography, relevant skills, etc. The outcome of the process was the follow slate of directors:

- 1. Jackie Leung
- 2. Jerry Feltis
- 3. Andrew Vitch
- 4. Nicole Saulnier
- 5. John Miller
- 6. Anthony Rizzo
- 7. Hilary Chambers
- 8. Curt Dunlop
- 9. Jeff Suddaby
- 10. Kim Loader
- 11. Drew Rachar
- 12. Dympna Hayes
- 13. Gary MacMillan
- 14. Esa Paltanen

Motion to accept the incoming slate of directors as presented.

Motion: Nicole Saulnier Seconded: Kim Loader Discussion: n/a Carried.